Part 2 of How to Start a Groovy Kick Ass Exercise Routine & Roasted Veggie Pasta!

Image

So, I left off at the last blog motivating you to spend thirty minutes a day moving your body! Hopefully some of you have implemented this or are in the process of getting yourself MOVING for thirty tiny minutes everyday! Way to go!!! On to part 2 of how to have a groovy kick ass exercise routine! I ended the last blog promising you that by taking this thirty minutes, for yourself to move your body, you will find that it seems you actually have more time. Exercise will make you feel so much better, that you will probably get more done! I promise. Really.

You are going to have to trust me for the first month or two. Expert opinions vary on the time it takes for something to become a habit. Some say in as quickly as twenty-one days something can become a habit, but other authorities argue that it can take as long as sixty-six days. I personally think that an exercise habit comes quicker, because you begin to feel so much better when you are moving your body. You can’t have a groovy kick ass life without exercise. So make a commitment right now, write it down and put it on the refrigerator, mark it in lipstick on your bathroom mirror, make it your status on Facebook – put it wherever you need to in order to make sure that you see it. Make it a non-breakable commitment to yourself. Decide to do it and then do it. It doesn’t matter what kind of shape you’re in. If you don’t start somewhere, then you’ll go nowhere.

Okay – enough preaching on committing. You’re now committed to exercising your groovy kick ass body. The question is – what do I do? There are infinite possibilities and this is where the fun begins. This is where you get to explore what makes you tick – what makes you move. There are so many ways to get your body moving. Do you like to walk? Great – do that for half an hour a day. Maybe see if a friend wants to walk with you. When I first started getting in shape, I was lucky enough to have a friend to do it with me. We started out walking about three miles a day and slowly worked up to seven miles a day (about an hour and a half)! Those were great times. It turned out those walking sessions with my good friend were as beneficial psychologically as physically! We solved kid problems, husband problems and world problems. While now we live thousands of miles apart, we are still close! If a walking partner doesn’t trip your trigger, then consider getting a dog – or walking your friends dog. Having someone count on you to get out and get walking is a great way to motivate yourself!

If getting outside isn’t your thing – or you have young children whom you can’t leave – consider going to your local library and checking out their selection of workout videos. Even if the videos are old, that’s okay. There are some really terrific older videos that really work your body. Try all sorts – weights, Pilates, yoga, cardio, cardio step, dance, ballet etc. etc. etc.! There are so many varieties of exercise that if you try them all, you are sure to come across one that really clicks with your style. I tried many videos and DVDs from our library, trying to find the ones that kept me motivated and that I felt like worked. I loved the variety that borrowing from the library afforded me. Not knowing much about yoga, I checked out a Kundalini yoga video with Gurmukh, and this has turned into a passion for me. I do Kundalini yoga almost every day. I also discovered that I loved running. After I moved away from my walking partner, I didn’t enjoy walking by myself, because it took too long to get really good benefits, so I started running in order to speed up the workout. While I didn’t take to it right away, I did discover that running was a really great stress reliever for me.

So whether you decide to run, bike, walk, dance, yoga or whatever gets you moving, make a commitment to DO IT, and stick to it no matter how badly you don’t want to do it. Just start moving and before you know it you’ll be looking forward to this thirty minutes a day. Once you’ve made a habit of moving thirty minutes a day, I challenge you to bump up that time to forty-five minutes a day and then to sixty minutes a day. You’re ideally shooting for that sixty minutes a day mark at least six days a week. But don’t stress about upping your time for now. Just commit to that thirty minutes. Period. No excuses. Unless your vomiting or it’s Christmas. (those are the only excuses for not exercising that work when you’re a groovy kick ass chick). Wishing you all happy exercising! Get your groovy kick ass body moving. Keep Shining. Peace Out!

I LOVE Pasta. This is such a simple and easy, but delicious meal. Use whatever veggies you have on hand, or whatever you like best.

Roasted Veggies & Pasta

Cut up a good bunch of your favorite veggies. My favorite combo is:

1 – 2 cups mushrooms (any kind)

2 Zucchini

1 Eggplant, peeled

1 – 2 fennel bulbs

2 – 3 sweet onions

2 Carrots

1 – 2 sweet potatoes

1 – 2 potatoes

1 head of garlic, cloves peeled & chopped

Combine chopped veggies in large bowl. Add around 1 – 2 TBSP good quality olive oil and 2 – 4 TBSP good quality balsamic vinegar. Add 1 tsp rosemary, 3 tsp thyme, fresh cracked pepper and sea salt to taste. Toss well so veggies are coated with liquid and herbs. Put on large greased cookie sheet. Roast for around 45 – 60 minutes at 425 degrees F. While veggies are roasting, cook up a big pot of pasta. Experiment with different kinds of pasta — try quinoa, rice and corn. Different kinds of pasta all add different tastes to the dish! When pasta is done, drain and put in large bowl. Heat up some marinara sauce on the stove. I used to make my own marinara, but there are so many really good ready made ones on the market, that I rarely make my own any more. I really like Muir Glen. Serve by spooning some pasta in a bowl. Top with roasted veggies and then pour marinara sauce over the top. Eat as much as you wish to help keep your groovy kick ass body moving! Enjoy!

 

One thought on “Part 2 of How to Start a Groovy Kick Ass Exercise Routine & Roasted Veggie Pasta!

Leave a Reply

