Kundalini Yoga and Kick Ass Pasta

Image

I’ve never been very coordinated. Watching me dance is usually an exercise in comedy and I’m pretty sure I trip more than the average person. I once tried out for a college dance team (what was I thinking?!?!?) and came in dead last out of about 200 girls. But, I’ve always been okay with it and have learned to embrace my maladroit side! However, around ten years ago, quite by accident, I stumbled upon a practice that has helped me gain strength, grace and balance. It has focused my mind, strengthened my body and elevated my spirit. Kundalini Yoga has become my daily companion and I want to share a little bit about it with you today! I recommend giving it a whirl and I hope you find it as uplifting for your entire life as I have.

Kundalini Yoga is sometimes referred to as the master yoga or the umbrella under which all other Yoga lies. It embodies a physical, mental and spiritual workout. If you practice regularly you will have increased flexibility, and improvements in your digestive, cardiovascular and nervous systems. The poses also work on toning your body and building muscle strength. Through one of the breathing exercises called breath of fire, you will most likely expand your lung capacity and strengthen your physical heart.

Kundalini can also help keep you in great health. It bolsters the immune system, which helps you ward off illness and recover quicker when you do get sick. Additionally, Kundalini really helps me focus and have greater mental clarity. This leads to being able to perform daily tasks better and increases creativity and drive. There are some practitioners who even claim that Kundalini helps keep you young! Moreover, the practice has really helped me become a more graceful person both physically and mentally speaking. I love it so much, that I am beginning my teacher training certification this summer!

Contrary to some of the things you read on the Internet, Kundalini Yoga is NOT a religion or a religious practice. Anyone of any religion can practice this Yoga. When you Google “Kundalini Yoga” you come up with all sorts of crazy hits that represent fairly erroneous descriptions of the practice. Many sites will tell you to be aware of “Kundalini Awakening.” These sites then proceed to list all sorts of frightening side effects of an awakening. Kundalini Masters Ana Brett and Ravi Singh say the following regarding reported Kundalini awakenings: “In our combined 40 years of teaching Kundalini Yoga we have never come across anyone who claimed to be in the throes of ‘Kundalini Syndrome’ which wasn’t actually something more prosaic.”

For anyone looking to boost his or her workouts, or just try out something new, I highly recommend trying Kundalini Yoga. I have made gains in strength, flexibility and coordination that I never thought possible. The picture I posted today with the blog is me in wheel pose. When I first started KY, I never thought I would be able to do this pose, but the proof is in the picture…and there I am!!! If you can’t find a class to go to in your town, then I suggest trying out a Kundalini Yoga DVD. There are no better Kundalini DVDs on the market than those by Ana Brett and Ravi Singh. They are a vibrant Kundalini duo who will motivate you and make anything seem possible. For beginners, their DVD Yoga Beauty Body would be a fabulous choice. Visit their site at https://www.raviana.com/index.php to see all their videos and find out more about this wonderfully awesome practice. Do Kundalini Yoga. Keep Shining. Peace Out!

Any exercise makes me HUNGRY!! And, if you’ve been reading my blog long, you know I don’t like to skimp on calories or carbohydrates. Consuming enough of the right kind of food will keep you energized and able to work out on a daily basis. The following recipe is SOOOO delicious. It’s full of vegetables, good carbs and protein from the nuts. I’ve adapted this recipe from Mary & John McDougall’s The Starch Solution. Give it a go after one of your Kundalini Workouts and you’ll be ready to take on anything that comes your way!

Kick Ass Pasta

2 Cups reduced sodium vegetable broth

2 Cups Walnuts

1/3 Cup fresh Italian parsley, packed and stems removed

1/2 Cup fresh cilantro, packed and stems removed

Juice of half a lemon

3 Cloves garlic, crushed

1 TBSP sambal oelek (Indonesian chili paste)

3 TBSP coconut sugar

Dash smoked paprika

Dash of sea salt to taste

16 oz. corkscrew rice pasta

4 Cups broccoli florets

1-1/2 cup chopped red bell pepper

1-1/2 cup chopped yellow bell pepper

1-pound mushrooms, stems removed and sliced

1 cup halved cherry tomatoes

1/2-Cup Pine nuts for sprinkling on top

Combine the broth, nuts, parsley, cilantro, lemon juice, garlic, sugar and paprika in a blender and blend until really smooth. You might have to let it run for quite a while if your blender isn’t very powerful. Bring a large pot of water to boil. Add Rice noodles and cook for 6 minutes. Add the broccoli and peppers and boil for six minutes more. Add mushrooms and boil for 2 minutes. Drain pasta and veggies and put in large serving bowl. Pour the sauce on top and toss well to coat. Serve in bowls and top with a tablespoon or two of pine nuts. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

