What I Eat Wednesday and the Beauty of Beans & Rice!

Image

Happy Wednesday to you! It’s a glorious day in Idaho, with the sun shining brightly and the mercury starting to climb a little higher every day! I’m getting the itch to dig in the dirt and plant. But that will have to wait a few more weeks.

As I find my groove with this blog, I’m going to start having a “What I Eat Wednesday” entry that will give a run down of everything I eat during the day.

If you’re trying to eat healthy and get fit, you must remember to eat enough calories. That’s why I’m doing a “what I eat day” to show how much I eat in a day. If you’re eating the right foods, you can consume as much as you want and still keep your ideal weight. You should never let yourself get famished. If you do, I promise, you will reach for unhealthy foods, as your brain will drive you to get sugar to it quick. So read on and eat up!

Breakfast: After my workout (yoga and cardio) I’m usually scrambling to get out the door. This morning I whipped up a frozen strawberry-banana shake that is so healthy and tastes just like a milkshake. I put about 1-1/2 cups of almond milk in the blender and then added a tablespoon of flaxseeds and turned the blender on high and let it mix for a bit. Then I added one frozen banana, about a cup of frozen strawberries and 1 tsp of vanilla and blended until smooth. I poured it in a huge glass and downed it while I got ready. I also brewed a cup of green tea while I made my smoothie. I let it steep and then put it into a to go cup and drank on my way to work.

Morning Snack: I start getting hungry around 10:00 or 10:30, so I take plenty of fruit with me to eat as a snack at work. Today I had three bananas and a huge bunch of grapes.

Lunch: Beans & Rice – We had beans and rice for supper last night and they make a great leftover food. I added some fresh chopped cilantro, salsa and Sriracha (let’s face it, Sriracha makes everything better!).

Supper: I’ll have a big salad and a huge bowl of leftover beans and rice, along with some guacamole and corn tortillas.

A little before bedtime, I’ll have a glass of wine and maybe another piece of fruit or a small bit of dark chocolate. If you’re trying to lose weight, I would forgo the late night glass of wine and chocolate. When you reach your ideal weight, you can add those items back in to you diet.

I eat the meal beans and rice often! This dish is rich in fiber, protein, vitamins and minerals, as well as having loads of good carbohydrates to keep your body and brain happy. You’ll feel super satisfied after a meal of beans & rice. Also, I find that I never get tired of eating them, because there is such a great variety of beans and spices that you can change up to keep it fresh and new! Eat Enough. Eat Well. Keep Shining. Peace Out!

Beautiful Beans & Rice!

4 Cups dried beans, soaked in water overnight

1 onion

4 cloves garlic

1 -2 tsp sea salt

3-4 Tbsp coconut sugar (or honey)

Discard soaking water and put beans in a large soup pan (or in the crockpot). Add about 6 – 8 cups water. Bring to boil on top of stove, cover and turn heat to low. Let simmer for 4 – 5 hours. Sauté onion and garlic in about ¼ cup water in skillet. Add to bean mixture along with salt and sugar. Let simmer for another hour or so, until broth becomes thick. I like to mash the beans a bit at this point to make them really thick and soupy.

If you’re using a crock pot for the beans, put all ingredients in the pot, turn on high and let cook all day. No need to sauté the veggies!

2-cups dry rice

4-cups veggie broth

Put broth in large saucepan and bring to boil. Add the rice and turn burner to low and cover. Let simmer for 45 minutes. Fluff with fork.

Put rice in bowl and cover with beans. Add avocado, salsa, Sriracha, cilantro or whatever other toppings you like! Enjoy!

Note: Beans and rice will keep in the fridge for most of the week. I like to make a huge batch on the weekend and eat on them all week!

Leave a Reply

